How Did I Get Here, Part 2 of 3

Jen Sullivan
5 min readJan 20, 2023

The Bank

A rabbit in the bush outside the bank

When I left the craft store for the bank, I was sure I was making the right decision. The bank had expressed interest in hiring me years earlier when one of my business classes partnered with them to revamp their customer service. The college dean had spoken highly of me to the bank executives and they were impressed with my presentation skills and extensive customer service experience. I was focused on college at the time and politely refused.

In March of 2020, I felt I had come full circle back to the job I maybe could have had years earlier. I was excited to leave the retail world, though I was unsure how I would feel about not dealing with inventory. I had always loved inventory, aside from the ridiculous hours as a manager, and my craft store was the best in the district for inventory accuracy.

My first week with the bank was in a classroom setting. There were only four of us and we had to sit far apart because of the rapidly increasing COVID-19 numbers. My introduction to banking was not a good one — warnings of putting your family in danger, the possibility of jail time if you screwed up, and an overall feeling of being in the wrong place. The other women in the class were all from banking, whereas I was from retail and had an entirely different viewpoint on everything.

--

--

Jen Sullivan

I am a gamer, a geek, and a gardener, among many things. I enjoy writing as a way to share with others. You'll find no AI content here--I am a real writer.