Why Cats Matter

Jen Sullivan
7 min readAug 15, 2022

A cat owner’s thoughts on the importance of cats

Sadie’s Eyes, photo by Jen Sullivan

“Cats do not give us too many chances. Abuse a cat’s trust twice and you could be history, for cats are much less forgiving than dogs and will often lose their trust in you should you behave badly. A dog gives you infinite slack; not so a cat.”

Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson

I’ve had cats for 41 years. I got my first cat when I was three and have had one ever since. I cannot imagine life without a cat, a warm companion to purr next to you or, if you are lucky, in your lap.

Usually, we have had more than one cat at a time in our household. You cannot have just one cat in most situations. I’ve had cats that were friends, cats who tolerated other cats, and cats who simply hated each other. Right now I have three, two of which are buddies and the third who has mixed feelings about her housemates.

It has been years since I sought out a cat or kitten, letting them find me instead. My current three are each unique with their own stories.

Loki Outside, photo by Jen Sullivan

Loki (17) was born into a feral cat colony in April 2005, but was bottle-fed from early on, making him social and trusting of most humans. He and his…

--

--

Jen Sullivan

I am a gamer, a geek, and a gardener, among many things. I enjoy writing as a way to share with others. You'll find no AI content here--I am a real writer.